• Younger Hall
  • St Andrews

WAGNER Siegfried Idyll (18’)
SCHUMANN Cello Concerto (25’)
SUCKLING Meditation (after Donne) World Premiere (10’)
BEETHOVEN Symphony No 8 (26’)

Nicholas Altstaedt cello / conductor
Scottish Chamber Orchestra

Marking the centenary of the Armistice, this special event represents a musical response to the legacy of war and the feelings of commemoration, love, loss, joy and peace it brings. Suckling’s Meditation is bound to be intriguing, with the inclusion of bells pealing from across Scotland. With the added luxury of one of the Season’s headline artists, Nicolas Altstaedt, a highly creative director and cellist in Schumann’s hugely expressive Concerto, the programme opens with Wagner’s beautiful lullaby and is completed with a work of brightness, optimism and good humour – Beethoven’s Eighth Symphony.

I am involved in mankind, and therefore never send to know for whom the bell tolls; it tolls for thee. John Donne, Meditation XVII (1624)

Contribute your bell recordings here –