• St Saviourgate Unitarian Chapel (map)
  • Saint Saviourgate
  • York, England, YO1 8NN
  • United Kingdom

Late Music Ensemble – Thea Musgrave at 90

Thea Musgrave: Orfeo I (1975) for solo flute and tape
Thea Musgrave: D.E.S. – In Celebration (2016) for solo cello
Thea Musgrave: Snapshots (2009) for solo piano
Martin Suckling: Three Venus Haiku (2009) for cello and piano
John Cummins: new work for flute and cello – LME commission
Nadia Boulanger: Three Pieces for Cello and Piano (1914)
Joseph Kudirka: 21st Century Music (2008) for three parts
York St John University student: new work
Bohuslav Martinů: Trio for Flute, Cello and Piano (1944)

Pre-concert talk at 6.45pm

LME celebrates Thea Musgrave’s 90th birthday year with solo works for flute, cello, and piano, plus music related by themes of friendship and celebration.

Musgrave studied with Nadia Boulanger for 4 years in Paris before emigrating to the US in 1972. Martinů moved from Prague to Paris in 1923, then to New York in 1941. Unlike much of his music written during the war years, Martinů’s Trio is marked by lightness of heart and good cheer. Reflective qualities can be found in the music of Musgrave’s fellow Scot, Martin Suckling, inspired by and remembering the poet George Bruce. Music by American composer Joseph Kudirka, London-based composer and LME alumnus John Cummins, and a new work by a York St John University student, responds to the world today.